Valve Cover Gasket/Rocker cover gasket.... %$^$^$# sake!!!

The place to come to share your technical expertise, or just find out what the little springy thing is that's just pinged out of sight under the work-bench.
englishmatt
Brolly Dolly
Brolly Dolly

Valve Cover Gasket/Rocker cover gasket.... %$^$^$# sake!!!

Post by englishmatt »

Team,

So I'm looking for some help/advice on why I cannot seem to replace the valve cover/rocker cover gasket without it leaking? I'm not a newbie, I'm a meticulous wrench and have worked on bikes for 30+ yrs... but this is driving me nuts.

The issue is that when the rubber gasket is installed, then torqued down it all looks great. Start the motor, all looks great. Take the bike out and the left side Front or Rear Cam Lob shaped rubber (crescent shape) seems to get "sucked" in slightly and cause a slight gap....

.... which when the bike goes on the side stand leaks nice clean oil down the side of the motor and on the floor.

I'm only using YMMC OEM gaskets, I've gone through TWO of them and I just cannot get this F&*%^ thing to seal correctly. When the lobe gets sucked it, it literally slices off the little rubber lip on the gasket designed to stop this happening.

Why would there by any negative pressure in the CAM area that would cause the crescent shaped rubber part to get compromised? Is it a blocked PCV valve issue?

I've followed the criss-cross tightening perfectly. I've used a light coating of RTV to "hold" the gasket in place...is that the issue?

I'm not using YAMABOND... is that the secret?

Any insight as to what's causing this issue would be greatly appreciated...

Cheers,

Matt.
1990 FZR 1000 EXUP - Black/Grey
2017 KTM 1290 SA-R
Stig
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Stig »

Not had this issue but I feel your pain

Do you let the rtv sealant holding in the crescent set before starting up the motor?