Track day advice

Start a discussion about anything you like here. Newbies please note, it's your round!
oldgreybeard
Ear-Plug Cleaner
Ear-Plug Cleaner

Track day advice

Post by oldgreybeard »

After months in the garage avoiding the torrential rain, and putting in the last 3000 miles on a pushbike over the winter, I've booked the EXUP in for service, tune-up and general bit of TLC.

Has anyone got any advice for the aging and bewildered rider whose family bought him a track day at Silverstone for Christmas?

Tyre pressures? suspension tuning or simply the best make of rubber pants?

I have never done one before, and I fear being humiliated by an 18 year old lapping me on a honda C90 stepthrough!
simonb
Scooter Boy
Scooter Boy

Post by simonb »

Start off steady and get the tyres warm for 3 laps or so and build up from there.
Go at your own pace and don't worry about getting passed,there is alwsys someone faster but if it is run well the faster lads will get moved up into a quicker group.
Dont fall for the "suspension should be rock hard" rubbish but you will want to lower the tyre pressures depending on make and your ability,there should be a tyre bloke there to ask and the instructors should be able to give you some advice.
Depending on who the organisers are thet may give you a couple of laps tuition if you ask.
Drink lots of water and eat small snacks as well to keep your energy levels up.
Enjoy it,it's for fun and not a race.
Tenas for men if all else fails.
undeadhairy
Test Rider
Test Rider

Post by undeadhairy »

I do believe you can hire 400cc bikes off them so you dont trash your own bike by accident. But you might have to ring to double check
Teego
More Rabbit Than Sainsbury's
More Rabbit Than Sainsbury's

Post by Teego »